Board of Directors

Roy Freeman, MD
Professor of Neurology at the Harvard Medical School
Director of the Center for Autonomic and Peripheral Nerve Disorders, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Roy Freeman is Professor of Neurology at the Harvard Medical School and Director of the Center for Autonomic and Peripheral Nerve Disorders in the Department of Neurology at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Freeman is former chairman of the World Federation of Neurology research group on the autonomic nervous system, former president of the American Autonomic Society, and former chairman of the Autonomic Section of the American Academy of Neurology. He serves on the Executive Committee and the Steering Committee of the Analgesic, Anesthetic, and Addiction Clinical Trial Translations, Innovations, Opportunities, and Networks (ACTTION), a public-private partnership with the United States FDA.

Dr. Freeman is Editor-in-Chief of Autonomic Neuroscience: Basic and Clinical and on the editorial boards of The Clinical Journal of Pain, Pain: Clinical Updates, and Clinical Autonomic Research. He is a founder of several companies in pain and neurodegenerative disease and is on the scientific advisory boards of many large and small pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. He is on the board of directors of NeuroBo Pharmaceutical Company.

His research and clinical interests are biomarker development in neurodegenerative disease, the physiology and pathophysiology of the small nerve fibers and the autonomic nervous system, and clinical trial design methodology in peripheral and central nervous system disease. He is the principal investigator on NIH-funded studies on the neurological complications of diabetes, the neurobiology of stress, and biomarker development in alpha-synucleinopathies. He has been principal investigator on many neurodegenerative disease and neuropathic pain clinical trials. He has authored more than 250 original reports, chapters, and reviews.

Dr. Freeman received his medical degree from University of Cape Town.

Elizabeth O’Farrell
Former Chief Procurement Officer and Global Head of Shared Services. Eli Lilly and Company

Elizabeth O’Farrell retired in 2017 from a 24-year career with Eli Lilly and Company, most recently serving as Chief Procurement Officer and Global Head of Shared Services from 2012 to 2017. Prior to that, she advanced through a number of executive management positions including Senior Vice President, Policy and Finance; Senior Vice President, Finance; Chief Financial Officer, Lilly USA; Chief Financial Officer, Lilly Canada; and General Auditor. Before joining Eli Lilly, Ms. O’Farrell was an accountant with Boise Cascade Office Products and served as an auditor at Whipple & Company and Price Waterhouse. Ms. O’Farrell currently serves on the board of PDL BioPharma, where she is a member of the Audit Committee. Ms. O’Farrell was an active board member of the YMCA of Greater Indianapolis for more than a decade and served as its Chair from 2014 to 2016. She is also a member of the Finance Committee of the United Way of Brevard County Florida and is a volunteer mentor with WeVenture, a small business mentoring program affiliated with the Florida Institute of Technology. Ms. O’Farrell previously served on the boards of the Washington Township Schools Foundation and Keep Indianapolis Beautiful. Ms. O’Farrell holds a BS in accounting with honors and an MBA in management information systems, both from Indiana University.

Milton H. Werner, PhD
President & CEO, Inhibikase Therapeutics

Prior to founding Inhibikase, Milton Werner served as Director of Research at Celtaxsys, Inc., a cell-free immunotherapeutics company. From September 1996 until June 2007, Dr. Werner was a Head of the Laboratory of Molecular Biophysics at The Rockefeller University and departed the University at the rank of Associate Professor. While at The Rockefeller University, Dr. Werner focused on developing more complete understandings of mechanisms of human disease in immunology, oncology, and infectious disease research at the cell-free immunotherapeutics company Celtaxsys in Atlanta, Georgia. At Celtaxsys, Dr. Werner drove the research program from the loss of its technology license to a $20 million pre-money valuation at the opening of the company’s Series B investment round. Celtaxsys explores the role of proteins in controlling immune cell migration. Previous to Celtaxsys, Dr. Werner was an internationally recognized scientist, Associate Professor and Head of Lab at the Rockefeller University. At the Rockefeller, Dr. Werner focused on elucidating mechanisms of human disease in immunology, oncology, and infectious disease.

Dr. Werner is the author or co-author of more than 70 research articles, reviews, and book chapters and has given lectures on his research work on more than 150 occasions throughout the world. He is the recipient of numerous private and public research grants totaling more than $10 million and of several awards, including the Young Investigator Award from the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Foundation, the Research Chair from the Brain Tumor Society, and a $1 million Distinguished Young Scholars in Medical Research award from the W. M. Keck Foundation. Dr. Werner received his PhD in Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley and his BS in Biochemistry from the University of Southern California, and he trained at the National Institutes of Health before joining the Rockefeller in 1996.

Back to Top